Author Topic: Cape Gooseberries  (Read 1424 times)

Wicker

• Hectare
Cape Gooseberries
« on: February 21, 2006, 16:40:28 »
I've never grown these tho I do enjoy eating them!  This year I've bought seed and intend having a bash - have been told they are easy to grow but am not totally convinced so are they easy, are there any special tips/hints? Any help apopreciated as usual.......
Equality isn't everyone being the same, equality is recognising that being different is normal.

Curryandchips

• Hectare
Re: Cape Gooseberries
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2006, 16:45:40 »
As a complete novice, I cannot offer any qualified advice, but I was given some of the previous years fruit for seed. I just squashed the fruit, scraped out the seed, rinsed and dried them on paper and then planted in compost. After a couple of weeks (or a little longer), they have all started germinating. I have them on a warm shelf at work, so I cannot comment on whether they would germinate in cooler temperatures.

Once they have two true leaves, then I will prick them out into individual pots.
The impossible is just a journey away ...

glow777

• Hectare
  • up in the hills in Buxton
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2006, 17:10:56 »
Grew some in my greenhouse last year, quite large plants and lots of "lanterns" on them but were very late ripening and only a few made it before the frost got to them. Other people I know bring them into heated greenhouses/conservatories to finish off ripening which can be as late as Christamas! They also overwinter the plants which should bring the harvesting period earlier in the year.

Maybe if I restricted the numbers of fruit as with tomatoes they would be better. Not growing again this year due to lack of space but will no doubt try again some time.

jennym

• Hectare
  • Essex/Suffolk border
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2006, 18:24:29 »