Author Topic: Allotment Land Ownership  (Read 6255 times)

skintnbitter

• Quarter Acre
Allotment Land Ownership
« on: June 25, 2008, 11:24:56 »
Hi, Newbie Here!

I have recently become an owner of an allotment plot on a new private site which has just been opened near me.

I had a strange converstion the other day, when i just asked in passing who own's the land? and was told that we do! When asked them to clarify, i was told that each person who has been assigned a plot now owns that bit of land???

I am really confused, along with others as we pay £25.00 per year for the plot.

Has anyone ever come across this before, is this normal?

Thanks

Grant

• Half Acre
  • I love Allotments4All
Re: Allotment Land Ownership
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2008, 13:28:44 »
think you need to get some free advice from some where.  In Manchester we have a department at the Town Hall.  Who are you paying the money to is it a private landlord and is there paper work to do with ownership of the land somewhere.

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2008, 13:38:07 »
The Crown Estate own everything in Britain. That's why you only have a freehold title if you buy a house... technically you're only renting it off the queen. Or something. Someone told me this in a pub once.

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2008, 15:02:07 »
The Crown Estate own everything in Britain. That's why you only have a freehold title if you buy a house... technically you're only renting it off the queen. Or something. Someone told me this in a pub once.
.............so it must be true :)

Actually not  -the Crown Estate do own nearly all the seabed, but if land is registered in your name it's yours (or the banks :)), not the Crown Estate's.

Who owns above and below it is much more complicated!

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2008, 17:55:13 »