Author Topic: purple sprouting broccoli already  (Read 1713 times)

happy larry

• Not So New ...
purple sprouting broccoli already
« on: July 30, 2010, 14:26:32 »
Hi all i am new to this wonderful forum i have been lurking in the shadows and thought it was time i became a member.Please forgive my 2 pronged post as i couldnt find a place to introduce myself.I live in Burton on Trent,dont have an allotment just grow fruit and veg in the garden and polytunnel.Question is as header has any one started eating there spring sown psb,i set seed (dec cropper)in march then planted in final growing position about the end of april.I have been giving said plants a feed of liquid manure (chicken muck) and keeping well watered,now im not complaining but about 3 weeks ago i noticed a crown of broccoli forming in the centre of each plant,so cut and ate them thus encouraging the side shoots.Can anyone explain why it is cropping so early,and is anyone else in the same situation,as i said im not complaining as it so nice to eat.And i have set another load of seeds for a winter/spring crop.Thanks for reading Paul

Old bird

• Hectare
Re: purple sprouting broccoli already
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 14:34:26 »
Hi happy Larry

I would think - and on brassicas and the like I am no expert - that it is the unusual year that we are having weatherwise!

Welcome to the site - wish I could have my polytunnel at home there would be so many more possibilities for me!!

Old Bird
 ;D

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 15:14:58 »
Hiya, happy larry,welcome to the site  ;D
 sounds more like calabrese, what colour is it?

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2010, 15:33:59 »
Welcome to A4A Happy larry.  No need to lurk any more ;D