Author Topic: Robins  (Read 2498 times)

Toadspawn

• Acre
Robins
« on: December 02, 2010, 12:55:30 »
Robins are said to be very territorial even in the winter and supposedly one Robin will keep all the others away from the food.
Can anyone explain why I often have 2-3 feeding side by side on a daily basis particularly during the winter? Today there have been 6 feeding within a few yards of each other and yesterday there were 9. They may show a bit of aggression towards each other at times but it does not seem to stop them feeding together. Perhaps it is hunger overcoming aggression!   

pumkinlover

Re: Robins
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2010, 14:04:11 »
I am no expert but I think you have it right.  There is something called heirachy of needs in human psychology and basically as one need is met you then move to a higher level. So at the moment the main need is to get food, rather than protect a territory. 
However the collared doves in our garden mob the wood pigeons if they  come any where need the food i put out so maybe I am talking rubbish. :-\1

Flighty

• Hectare
    • Flighty's Plot
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2010, 14:39:47 »
Robins are fiercely territorial but when it's really cold they don't want to expend energy fighting.  All birds, and especially smaller ones, suffer in this weather so their priority is food, water and shelter.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/earth/wildlife/8164576/Fewer-robins-will-be-keeping-gardeners-company-this-winter.html
Flighty's plot,  http://flightplot.wordpress.com,  is my blog.

I support the Gardening with Disabilities Trust, http://www.gardeningwithdisabilitiestrust.org.uk

Dandytown

• Hectare
    • Pumpkins Growing Diary
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2010, 16:52:50 »
Can anyone tell me what makes the best Home or Shelter for Robins.

There are so many at our allotments and they realy bring something special to th eplot whyen I am quielty digging away by myself.

Are fat balls a good choice of food for them.

Thanks

DT