Author Topic: strawberries  (Read 4095 times)

demelzah

• Not So New ...
strawberries
« on: March 25, 2011, 11:07:59 »
which type of strawberries should i buy and should i get bareroot, runners, pot plants?
i will be growing them outside on the allotment and they are for the kids to eat.

poppie1

• Half Acre
Re: strawberries
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2011, 13:03:47 »
i'm no expert,but i put a dozen last year in a strawberry pot/herb pot and done well with them(these are coming on well,but a bit windswept).i have a little one who loves strawberries and being outdoors,so purchased another dozen today at aldi £2.99 for 6 good strong plants.

allaboutliverpool

• Hectare
  • allaboutliverpool.com
    • My Allotment in Liverpool
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2011, 07:08:45 »
Cambridge favourite are a reliable bet. Some of the newer varieties yield more. or are neater but the flavour is often somewhat insipid.
Whatever you grow will taste better within an hour of picking because you can allow the fruit to get really ripe and sweet before picking which commercial growers cannot do as the fruit becomes more fragile the riper it gets.

If you want fruit this year, go for pot grown and propagate from runners for a bigger feast next year. Last year I harvested 18.2Kg of stawberries.

My early plants under cover are in flower as you can see on :-

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Allaboutallotments/140595012660360?v=wall

jennym

• Hectare
  • Essex/Suffolk border
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2011, 16:31:54 »
This time of year isn't the best to be putting in strawberries. Autumn is best of all. Mine are already in growth and showing signs of flower buds, and I expect to be harvesting from end of may onwards (only 8 weeks).